ER ……and me

Tonight it comes to an end.  After fifteen years.  Actually….I didn”t want to be caught up in the flood of blog entries that are probably going to follow this finale.  Maybe.  I had intended to post something way earlier than this.  But I have gotten caught up in school stuff (ggrrr….seventh grade Science…AGAIN!) and other obligations.  Tonight however, I intend to plunk myself in front of the television at 8 for a retrospective and then at 9 for a two hour finale.  AND record it so I can watch it all again. 

I have written about all this here before.  When I first started watching ER, it was at the insistence of my sister.  As someone reliant on lip reading, I couldn’t handle the fast paced dialog, the fast moving characters and all the medical jargon.  Didn’t like it at all.  But, I was seriously hooked during the first season’s rerun stretch.  It was summer.  I was rocking a baby to sleep at night.  Much slower pace of life.  I could watch the show on Thursday and call my sister on Friday and have her give me the dialog run down.  I enjoyed Susan Lewis’ snarkiness, wanted a doctor exactly like Mark Greene and thoroughly enjoyed Benton’s Carter torture.  And I was stricken by  Jeanie Boulet’s story….loved Kellie Martin’s character…..and Doug and Carol’s drama.   Actors moved on and new ones came in.  I watched and kept up a mild interest…..until season six.  Enter….Luka Kovac….and later….Abby Lockhart. 

I had been aware of Goran Visnjic and Maura Tierney from their previous work.  “Welcome to Sarajevo” was already part of our video library.  I had stumbled on it at Blockbuster because we were in the midst of another international  adoption – one of the underlying themes of that film.  I was also a fan of ‘NewsRadio’ and was a bit perturbed at the news of Maura being added to the ER cast.  Never thought she would fit in there.  I never thought the two of them – as Abby and Luka – would ever consume me as much as they have.  But it wasn’t so much as a viewer as much as a plodding writer.  The ‘Luby II’ drama got me writing again.  REALLY writing.  I mean, really REALLY writing.  Constantly. Obsessively.

Frustrated with the show’s writers and what they were doing with the characters led me to the internet fan fiction sites.  Which gave me a viable audience for my storytelling.  Which led me to  Maura and Goran internet web boards.  Which in turn gave me a circle of internet buddies who were writers and fans of the show as well.  Which led me to blogging.  Which led me to other blogs…blogging friends….and more serious thought about writing.  And their friendships gave me the courage and determination to take a solo trip to NYC to see Maura Tierney in a play last fall.  Much to my husband’s dismay.

So ER ends it’s fifteen year run tonight.  The baby that I rocked to sleep while watching in the beginning is now salivating over the start of his driver’s education class at the end of the month.  His sister, whose adoption at the age of 5 was spurred on by ‘Welcome to Sarajevo’, is the current 7th grade Science not-student.  They have just barely tolerated this ER fascination for the last few years.  The Friday morning drive to school run down of the previous night’s show is now drowned out by ipods.  Not that we haven’t had some fun with it.  Her favorite memory is of the  ‘wedding cake’ we enjoyed the night Abby and Luka were married.  Crazy mom let them stay up, eat a store bought mini carrot cake and toast with Sprite in plastic champagne glasses as the ER wedding was taking place.   Crazy mom….but that event was a LONG time coming.  Seriously.  We just HAD to celebrate it.

Don’t know what I will be thinking tonight as it ends.  I know I will miss it.   We are talking a fifteen year habit here.  Actors and writers and directors and assistant producers and production assistants will move on and I will follow their careers.   I have ER dvd collections to watch.   I am still going to be seriously writing myself.   And I do know that I am keeping my ER friends.  Every single one of them.  Do you hear that people??  I am going to keep bugging you.  So it ain’t really over, I guess.  Not at all.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “ER ……and me”

  1. Miranda Says:

    Lyn, another fantastic blog! I can’t believe 15 years—three-quarters of my life—is coming to an end tonight. I think all of the ER buddies will be watching in tandem tonight, which will definitely help when I’m knee high to a grasshopper in a box of Kleenexes.

    Happy Episode Day!!!

  2. Miranda Says:

    I have my own ER tribute finally posted….I’ve been waiting for today to post it.


Leave a Reply

