Treasures

Okay….so we are thinking about moving.  Well, we are going to move.  Eventually.  We are thinking about PACKING to move.  Its a daunting task when you realize that we have been living in this house for nearly 18 years,  All the nooks and crannies and cubby holes and closets are fairly stuffed with…..well….junk.  I am not looking forward to it. 

However, this morning I took a box and headed for an easy one.  The cupboard I have been thinking about starting with for…well…weeks now.  Its that nondescript one over the stove where I keep cook books and recipes.  Truth be known, these days I rely on my computer for the recipes I need.  I can find them online or stored in the recipe ‘folder’ I keep on my hard drive.  What do I have to keep actual…books….around for?  So I went at the task with a vengance, planning to pitch and purge. 

Easier said than done.  Heh.

First there was the Betty Crocker Cook Book my mother received as a wedding gift.  I learned to cook from that thing.  Several pages are missing – including the cake from scratch recipe that I used to make cakes with when I was about ten years old.  Gotta keep that, right?

And ‘The Family Circle Cookbook’ my husband was given when he moved into his own apartment after his divorce?  Okay, so I kept that one.  I’ll pass it along to the next person we know who moves in their first apartment after a divorce.  Here’s hoping it stays in our collection forever.

‘Cooking Light for One’?  That one should have been tossed a looonnng time ago.

“Everything Chocolate”?  Mulled that one over for about two minutes.  Okay.  So I kept it.

‘Four Ingredients’, ‘CrockPot Delights’, ‘Chinese Cooking’…..all went into the box of ‘keepers’….along with every one of the half page sized cookbooks I have bought in the grocery store check out line.  They hold treasures of casserole, crescent roll, chicken, hamburger, cookie and Bisquick recipes.  (Impossible Pie, anyone?)

I found a treasure trove of magazines.   Remember reading Erma Bombeck when she was still  alive???  Good Housekeeping also carried stunningly easy ‘gourmet’ recipes.  I found newspaper pages folded carefully for a recipe I couldn’t figure out which I was saving.  Found some frosting container covers with recipes on the opposite side.  Kept some of those. 

Found my ‘Blue Book’ for canning.  Kept that.  Might even use it again sometime.

‘Southern Living Cooking’?  Pitched that.

‘Calorie Cooking’?  Nothing interesting there. Pitched.

I actually decided to keep more than I pitched and purged.  But the ‘new’ collection fits easily into a fairly small cardboard box until it can be relocated to a new shelf in a new cupboard in a new home.

And the ‘treasure’ I found was this……

It’s a recipe card for ‘XMas Log (6 rolls)’ – folded, stained and found stuffed behind the aforementioned cookbook collection.  I have NO idea how it got there but I DO know I have been looking for it.  Its a frozen confection of glazed cherries, coconut, nuts, marshmellows, crushed graham crackers and Eagle Brand milk.  I have NO idea where my Mother got it.  I have memories of sneaking slices of it during the Christmas season.  I have been hankering for it for YEARS.  Haven’t been able to find it online anywhere.   Couldn’t remember enough of the ingredients to fudge a recipe on my own.  Dang!  My heart did flip flops when I pulled that little card out!

I transferred the recipe to my file on my hard drive and put the card in the keeper box. 

Right in front of the ‘Magic Cookie Bar’ recipe that was used to fill Pringle cans that were sent to me when I was in college several states away.

Both written in my Mother’s hand.

Treasures indeed.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Treasures”

  1. randy mckeever Says:

    Lynda – As always your stories are so heartfelt and make me feel as I am right there with you as you sifted through every thing! I remember tasting that Christmas log when I was a kid but had not been able to find a recipe like it since! Share please?? I feel for you having to go through things as you pack up to move– not a job I envy for sure! Someone once told me you should move every 5 years..if nothing else but to the curb! Its time to do that at our house! Thanks for sharing Lynda! Love Randy Sue

  2. Darcy Says:

    Okay, so now I can taste that “Xmas log” and would like the recipe when you get a chance. Yummy…SWEET memories for sure.

  3. Carol Says:

    I love you stories and I would like to try the “Xmas log” recipe when you get a chance. Oh have fun moving, I swore I would never do it again.


Leave a Reply

